This is journalism

This man is Sam Zell, former owner of The Chicago Sentinel, the Washington Tribune and other news outlets. If you’re not sure what working as a journalist means he is happy to explain it. I have transcribed the audio in case you can’t understand some of his mumbling but do watch it. It’s crystal clear.

– My attitude on journalism is very simple: I want to make enough money so I can afford you, it’s really that simple, okay? So you need to, in effect, help me by being a journalist that focuses on what our readers want, and therefore generates more revenue.

–But what our readers want are puppy dogs, and I mean we also need to inform the community…

–I’m sorry, I’m sorry… I can’t – you know, you’re giving me the classic, what I would call journalistic arrogance of deciding that puppies don’t count. I don’t know anything about puppies. What I’m interested in is how can we generate additional interest in our product and additional revenue so we can make our product better and better, and hopefully we get to the point where our revenue is so significant that we can do puppies and Iraq. Okay? Fuck you…

Leave a Reply

