Wonder Women

If you haven’t watched it, what are you waiting for? take your sons and daughters with you!

That being said, I have to confess that I have always been more of a Marvel fan. The Avengers and Dr Strange movies gave me chills as their cartoons and comics did many years ago. However, there’s one issue that bothers me: all of the movies that Marvel has released so far are about male superheroes.

Don’t get me wrong: I love Thor, Captain America, Hulk, Ironman.. just to name a few, but I’m a woman and I also want to see women on the screen, not only as secondary characters.

You might wonder why this is important, but it is and not only for people my age, but for children and teenagers, who spend an average of 30 hours a week watching TV and three hours watching movies, four hours reading magazines and 10 hours a week online.

I’m nearly 30 years old, I rarely watch TV other than the news but I’m an avid reader. That habit was forged when I was 7 years old and my elementary school teacher made my class watch ‘Matilda,’ starring Mara Wilson and Danny DeVito – a great film to watch with your kids.

I loved it, so much that I started reading my life away. ‘Books are forbidden at the table,’ my mum used to say at dinner time because I was often seating with a book in my left hand and the fork in my right one. I don’t read at tables anymore but that’s just an example on how powerful images and examples are to children.

When I got to the age of 10 I was consuming more comics and cartoons than ever: Used to watch Spiderman, with Mary Jane waiting for him every time he had to fight the villains, and Batman, with the occasional Batgirl appearance but there were no women.   A year later I discovered the 70’s Wonder Woman show, portrayed by Lynda Carter. It aired on Warner Classics – yeah, CLASSICS. That show gave me the feeling that women could also be strong and independent, contrary to all the previous role models I was exposed to.

Now, some of my friends would argue that those times are gone, that we are living in the feminism era. Are we really?

All you have to do is take a look at the programming and the newest Hollywood films – especially those directed by Michael Bay: they portray the same stereotypes over and over again: women whose function is ornamental and exist for the male viewer. That’s an appalling panorama considering that teenagers and children spend around 11 hours a day exposed to media content.

There are very few women creating the content within the industry. As the actress Patricia Arquette said in her 2014 Oscar acceptance speech and many others have stated: Hollywood is the reign of men and there’s little room for women.

That’s what makes Wonder Woman such a groundbreaking movie: The main character is a female whose motivation isn’t related to finding a partner – she’s looking to save the world from Ares, she isn’t depending on men – she has her own strength, her own values, and she is obviously not talking to other women only about men.

Wonder Woman was directed by filmmaker Patty Jenkins, who tweeted a list of things that happened just one week after the movie was shown in theatres for the first time, not all of them are good but they give you a feeling of what it is like for children – you can take a look at it below.

The movie is far from perfect, most of it was post-produced and it could be way better. However, it’s a start. I left the cinema with the feeling that women and girls could do anything or be anything they wanted, and so did the four year old who sat one row apart. We need more of this, and we need it now.

photo5048599813406435247

Leave a Reply

